thoughts about my blog switchover

since i’ve been blogging here at wordpress for a while now, i thought i would share my experience since several others mentioned wanting to do the same. first off, importing my posts from blogger was extremely easy and fast. while i haven’t gone and checked over every imported post, it seems as though they all came through okay. now, importing your posts to another blog does not mean they are deleted on the old site. so even though hitting the “import” button was a little scary, there was nothing irreversible happening. i wasn’t really sure how all that would work, i half-thought my old blog would self-destruct once i hit the import button (i’m a wee bit paranoid at times). had i realized it most definitely would not disappear into oblivion, i would have set up this site up a little more thoroughly before being all “hang on to your hats ladies, this blog is moving!” so, yeah.

what's a post without pics??? here's a poly chiffon-ish fabric i picked up on clearance and is destined to be a spring skirt. the color and print is a little different that what i usually buy, but since i picked it up for cheap i thought i'd give it a try!

what’s a post without pics??? here’s a poly chiffon-ish fabric i picked up on clearance and is destined to be a spring skirt. the color and print is a little different that what i usually buy, but since i picked it up for cheap i thought it was worth the risk.

the wordpress interface is pretty nice and i know there are many features i haven’t utilized or even discovered yet. there is a decent amount of instructive info over here if you take the time to read through it; learning more is definitely on my “to do” list. probably my favorite WP feature is the handy little notification thing in the bar up top to alert me to comments left on my posts (plus the quick reply option which i LOVE!), as well as replies to comments i have left on other WP blogs. in fact, that is a huge downfall to blogger IMO. i do reply to many comments, but unless you remember to come back to my post, you’ll never know! over here, i’m much more apt to respond simply because it’s more likely the person i’m responding to will actually see my response. i have learned which non-WP blog writers tend to reply to comments and i make a mental note to check back later, or flip back when they post again. however, we all follow so many blogs, who is really going to bother thinking about all that unless it’s really important? seriously blogger, get your act together on that one!

over here, pics are easy to add, and right now i can add them direct from my computer to my post without having to upload them to another platform. i imagine i’ll run out of space at some point and will either have to start paying (the horror!) or using another photo service. what do you WP people do in that regard? just curious! also, i don’t have the weird re-sizing and formatting issues i always had on blogger. a small thing, but having little annoyances like that out of the way is pretty awesome.

another joanns clearance find... some cotton shirting. i have two yards of it, but it's fairly narrow. not sure who gets it yet, but i think i could squeeze two tops out of it for the kiddos, or a short sleeve button up for the hubs. thinking, thinking..

another clearance find… some cotton shirting. i have two yards of it, but it’s fairly narrow. not sure who gets it yet, but i think i could squeeze two tops out of it for the kiddos, or a short sleeve button up for the hubs. thinking, thinking..

obviously moving my blog gave me a huge hit in readership, especially at first. i posted “hey i’m over here” links throughout the old blog so hopefully everyone will eventually get the memo. after almost a month, my numbers have rebounded to near pre-switch levels and, it’s not that i’m a stat junkie, it’s just nice to know that i’m not shouting into an empty room. which brings me to my next point—

how do you like to get updates? i have been using bloglovin’ as my reader, and while it’s not perfect, it does get the job done. i tried feedly but got annoyed with it after about five minutes. at this point i don’t use twitter or have a blog facebook page, but i’m not opposed to setting those up if, in fact, that is what ya’ll use to get updates. give me a shout out in the comments and let me know!

overall, the whole switch has gone well and i am super happy i finally took the plunge. no regrets. if you are thinking of doing the same, get off your bum and just switch already! any other questions or glaringly obvious topics i’ve totally missed? lemme know!

—lisa g.

10 thoughts on “thoughts about my blog switchover

  1. Susan says:

    I’m glad you’re liking it! I can’t remember if I’ve already told you this, but I use Flickr (paid acct), but I don’t really have any comparison or justification for this except that I had my Flickr account way before I had my blog. 🙂 I haven’t decided which post-Reader reader I’m going to use. I access my RSS feed via the Mr Reader app (LOVE) on my iPad, and they haven’t announced which platform they’ll interface with in the future. And hmmm… You’ve gotten me thinking about the way I reply to comments on my blog, which wouldn’t notify you or anyone else who checks that way. May need to reconsider!

    • lisa g says:

      i’m trying to get away without paying for photo storage as long as possible! i’ll have to check out that app since i’m not totally set on a reader platform yet.

  2. sewbusylizzy says:

    I’m a wordpress girl, it’s awesome especially the commenting/notification tools. I think these turn a blog into a two-way conversation stream & helps you build a rapport with readers.

  3. sewbusylizzy says:

    Oh and for wordpress blogs I use the wordpress reader (they are over in blog lovin too) as it makes it easy to comment from the iPad @ iPhone. Their apps are good too!

  4. Jess says:

    I’ve finally gotten the hang of feedly, but I entirely understand that “first five minutes” of frustration. It’s been about 2 weeks for me and it’s just now starting to feel intuitive.

    I’m still considering the blogger/WP switch. Thanks for the details!

Leave a Reply

