anthro knock-off tee

for some reason, we all love to knock off anthropologie garments. i don’t know why… maybe it’s because of their use of kitschy fabrics on high-ish end clothing or just their unique style. for me it’s because every time i browse i inevitably shout: “hey, i could make that! and for a quarter the price!! and not use polyester!!!” i’m quite a spectacle sometimes. i checked out their blouse selection recently because i have some silk chiffon fabric i’m just not sure what to do with and needed some inspiration. i ended up finding none, but did come across this super cute top and immediately knew what fabrics i wanted to use to make my own. the anthro top is a woven, but it reminded me of some knits at girlcharlee and next thing i knew i was adding fabrics to my cart and well you know the rest.

IMG_0660

i also recently came across the super awesome and FREE scoop neck tee pattern by skirt as top and knew it would all be a perfect match. i love that it is fitted through the bust and swingy at the hips. i used to be terribly self-conscious of swingy tops, and avoided them at all costs. why? probably because i spent nearly six consecutive years of my life pregnant or freshly post, and well once you have four kids people just assume you’re going to have at least six or ten more and are suspicious at any wearing of swingy tops. but, now that i’m more than four years removed from all that it’s time to let the swingy tops back into my life.

IMG_0652

the pattern comes in one size, small/medium (for reference i usually wear a 4-6 in RTW tops) and has a deep scoop neck and kimono-style short sleeve. i wanted a regular sleeve so i took a size 8 tracing of my renfrew and used that as a guide to make regular armholes and short sleeves. i also raised the scoop neck by 1″ and cut my binding narrower than called for. for the back, i cut the pattern across the back to make separate yoke and lower back pieces. i added 1″ at CB on the fold (so 2″ total) to make a pleat when joined with the yoke.

IMG_0690

i’ve always wanted to experiment with print mixing, and i really love how these two work together; fun but not too cray-cray. the striped knit i used turned out to be one of those impossible to work with rayon blends. every single time i use this type of knit i just want to tear my hair out! this neck binding is far from perfect (i was trying to get only the grey part to show) but since it was actually my third attempt at binding this neckline (the first time i used a different method and it looked truly awful, the second was way too wide and looked dumb) i couldn’t be bothered to care anymore if it was in fact perfect. the bird portion is also a rayon blend, but of the far more stable and super easy to work with variety. in truth, i assumed the bird print would be significantly smaller than it turned out to be. i was relying on what i saw last year when everybody and their grandmother was using this bird print. and, well, i didn’t stop to check details like that when i suddenly had to have the fabrics right now! it caught me off guard when i ripped open my package, but i quite like the large scale now that the shirt is made up!

IMG_0670

while this design worked great with the knit scoop neck tee pattern, it would be superb as a variation of the scout tee in a woven (kelli of true bias made something similar recently—gorgeous!). in fact, it would be a great way to use up those odd bits of leftover fabric. i totally love this tee, and i’m super inspired to do more color/print blocking to make my basics just a little more fun!

—lisa g.

29 thoughts on “anthro knock-off tee

  1. dokucug says:

    Uh oh! I feel a copy coming on!!

    This is so, so cute! And I have a gazillion scraps! Yay! Now I know what to do with them!

    Also, I’m glad that I’m not the only one who made a Girl Charlee haul recently 🙂 And you know, I wouldn’t have known about that shop if it weren’t for you. You’ve cost me a lot of money, lady! That’s OK though 🙂

    • lisa g says:

      copy away!

      i sort of hesitate to recommend GC because their fabric is so addictive! haha! i seldom buy knits from any other source. alas, my latest haul was only a small one… i did kind of go crazy on fashionfabricsclub.com the other day though. expect some cotton lawn and twill escapades soon!

  2. Kelly says:

    That is so funny, I just pinned those Anthro tees a couple of days ago, perfect for using up smaller pieces or refashioning! Yours is really cute!!

  3. Sally @ thequirkypeach says:

    I just pinned this exact shirt a day or two ago! Didn’t even have to click the link – I knew what it was – so glad to see it has inspired someone else too! Great idea with the knits – so comfy for summer. And I can say that I too was surprised by the large-ness of the birds on the gray/black GC fabric I recently purchased – lol 🙂

  4. Shar says:

    I seriously love this! I wear the same RTW size as you so it’s good to know that the scoop neck tee pattern would work for me. I think I’ll need to give up sleeping so I can sew everything that’s on my list!

  5. aleah says:

    This. Is. Fab! I’m totally copying this. I just downloaded that pattern too, this is a good reminder to print it out and make it up! I love the rounded back hem too – you added that, right?

    • lisa g says:

      i didn’t change the hem at all. actually, i didn’t realize it was rounded until i went to hem it! so unless i messed something up, i’m pretty sure it’s drafted that way!

  6. Susan says:

    This is awesome, way better than the inspiration one IMO. And a *very* successful print mixing, kudos! Yeah, I’ll chime in as one more who wants to blatantly rip this one off… 😀

  7. kristindownie says:

    oh holy cute tee!!! incidentally, i too have a love/hate relationship with girlcharlee….. too many super cute knits i want to buy and hoard, er make into things in the future!

Leave a Reply

