possibly the most boring skirt i’ve ever made

how’s that for a blog post title to really suck you in? riveting, i know. just to let you know how boring it is, i made this skirt monday, threw it in the wash (i always wash my twill makes before wearing them), and totally forgot about it! i came across it when sorting laundry this morning and was all—hey, new skirt… sweet!

IMG_1208

super bright outside, but whatevs. i can never pull myself together to take morning pics with better light.

okay, so i wear my denim moss mini all. the. time. it’s in pretty heavy rotation, so i knew i was due for another “basics” moss (from grainline studios, incase you’ve been living in a cave). i had intended to make one from the same fabric as my daughter’s shorts, but finally conceded to the fact that the color is too close to the actual color of my legs and would probably end up way too wash-y out-y. however, i had plenty of fabric left over from my husband’s jedediah shorts, and that fabric color is a way more flattering, but still a go-with-everything, basic color. and now we match d’awwwww…..

IMG_1181

i gave the skirt a more slash pocket treatment instead of the slant and gape. i can’t say i really prefer one pocket type over the other, i just like to be difficult.

IMG_1184

and, as before, i added back pockets and belt loops. then, because last time i had a hard time with the zipper insert as drafted, i added an extra 1/4″ SA on the underlap side of the fly.

IMG_1179

the waistband is cut as one piece which means that the front of the waistband ends up being on the bias. i noticed that my denim moss distorts a little because of this, so to help prevent the waistband from mis-shaping too badly, i pieced my interfacing so that the bias part of the waistband is reinforced with on-grain fusible. i used a woven fusible (stuff i had picked up for collars and cuffs) and really like how it holds up in waistbands (though not so much for the collars and cuffs…). i really don’t know what the best way is to interface waistbands, i suppose i should look into that, given my affinity for sewing them.

IMG_1214

anywho… since this skirt is rather plain i decided to jazz up the insides with some leftover seersucker for the waistband facing and leftover floral cotton lawn for the pockets, which just happens to be the same fabric the top i’m wearing. so… my top matches my pockets haha! gotta love that.

IMG_1183

to top it all off, i decided to hammer in a snap for the front closure. basically lazy me didn’t want to make a buttonhole and sew on a button. plus, hammering stuff is way more fun.

the end.

—lisa g.

27 thoughts on “possibly the most boring skirt i’ve ever made

  1. aleah says:

    So great, as usual! I actually end up liking my boring makes more than anything else sometimes – they get worn most, anyway! I love the snap closure, so cool. I need to look in to that. And I’ve loved both your versions of this skirt, makes me want to get the pattern…

    • lisa g says:

      thank you! it’s such a great pattern, as all the grainline patterns are! my “boring basics” makes definitely get worn the most, which makes me super happy!

  2. Susan says:

    SO not boring, but I know what you mean… That’s why I had to make up my own definition of “neutral,” HA! Oh and you know you totally have to SHOW PEOPLE THAT YOUR POCKETS MATCH. 🙂

    (Just got back from vacation and am trying to catch up, but decided to go in LIFO order!!)

  3. kathi giumentaro says:

    I have spent countless hours making wool dress, special occasion outfits etc. Only to be worn once or twice. This year I have been on a basics making kick. It makes so much more sense to sew things that I’ll wear every day. I have made way too many archers to admit to and wear them all the time. (I hope no one notices) I love your skirt. I can’t take it any more. I am getting the moss mini pattern. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • lisa g says:

      i couldn’t agree more! it’s good to make something fun and special, but i love reaching for those everyday items in my closet–it’s just so satisfying! and oh gosh that archer pattern… love it so much! i’ve made it three times and have another cut and soooo many more in my head! and the moss pattern is just as useful 🙂

    • lisa g says:

      thanks! i was particularly happy with the stitching on this skirt. i can’t think of seam that i wish i had done better. it’s not always that way, but i love it when it does happen!

  4. dokucug says:

    May be a little boring to sew, but will be awesome to wear! I should really take a page from your book and sew something solid-colored once in a while! You know, something that actually goes with other stuff, LOL!

  5. Katie says:

    Great skirt! I fully plan to make a few “boring basics” this fall and winter. The Moss Mini is on my list of patterns to try — I love the additions you made.

  6. Zoe says:

    Cute skirt! Everyone needs some “boring” basics every so often. Definitely agree that hammering a snap is way more fun than sewing a buttonhole!

  7. Shar says:

    This is a great skirt! I need more basics. I always seem to go for busy prints and really need some solid pieces. I laughed when you wrote that you can match your husband. My husband is so against matching of any kind. His worst fear would be the two of us in matching touristy outfits! Are snaps easy to put in?

    • lisa g says:

      thanks! the fun prints definitely have their place, but once you get hooked on good fit those RTW basics just don’t cut it anymore. and i’m soooo not a matchy matchy person–i almost didn’t make this skirt at all for that reason! and yes, the snaps are very easy to do. you don’t need any special tools, just a hammer!

  8. poppykettle says:

    Basics may feel boring to blog about but I reckon they’re the bomb. I’ve got a big affinity for that particular shade of green, and it’s so appropriate for pieces for the lower half! Love the additions like the pockets and pretty-ness on the insides – it looks incredibly ready to wear!

  9. dixie says:

    This skirt looks so professional! Maybe it’s the hardware or the fun pocket and waistband lining. If this were in my wardrobe I’d wear it all the time!

  10. nettie says:

    I just added this pattern to my collection as I have yet to see a version of it that isn’t awesome. Yours included!! I love how you dressed up the inside!! And thanks for the info about the waistband!

  11. Lisa says:

    Boring but it’s my favorite kind of skirt…You look great and the outfit looks great on you…lets see that skirt again in another photo shoot!!

Leave a Reply

