another moss…

my love affair with grainline patterns is pretty well documented as of late, and evidently i needed another moss skirt! i went to sewfisticated (one of my local fabric haunts) last week in search of some lightweight denim (which i found) and stumbled across this marc jacobs stretch denim. for $4/yd, i couldn’t pass it up. i didn’t buy much, and planned to save it for shorts next spring, but i decided i didn’t want to wait. so, another moss skirt was in order. hopefully i can pair it with some tights and wear it through the fall as well; three-season wear (spring, summer, fall) is way better than summer only!

IMG_1655

with my previous moss skirts i’ve added things like back pockets, belt loops, and extra topstitching. I decided to keep it more basic this time around, and not bother with all those extra details. plus i really wasn’t in the mood for print-matching back pockets. the only pattern change i made was to the front pockets—i kept them rounded out like my denim moss. for some reason, that shape is just my favorite.

IMG_1679

i did my best to keep the fabric print matched through out the seaming, and i think i did a damn fine job. can you even see the zip fly without zooming way in? or my CF or CB seams? yeah. like a BOSS. the only thing i’m annoyed with myself for is forgetting to yank the twill on-grain before cutting the front. if you squint, you’ll see that the print kinda skews up a tad. not a huge deal, and really it’s pretty minimal, but whatevs. i didn’t have enough fabric to recut, so… not gonna be bothered by it!

IMG_1659

i love this skirt so much. the pattern, the fabric, it just makes a dull day a little brighter. i’ve been crushing on patterned skirts/shorts/pants for a long time, so finally i got a little piece of that trendy pie.

IMG_1651

photo-bombed by my hipster son… how could i not include this pic?

—lisa g.

16 thoughts on “another moss…

  1. Shar says:

    This looks great – awesome fabric! And no – I don’t see any seams and didn’t realize you even had pockets at first. I’ve hesitated getting this pattern thinking it would be way too short, but it couldn’t be that hard to lengthen, right? Your son looks too cool! What a cutie :).

    • lisa g says:

      i made sure to include a “hand in pocket” pic to show that! and i should note, that i added the length of the hem band to the hem of the mini version, making this about 4″ longer than drafted.

  2. Gail says:

    Ooooh, that is awesome! I can definitely see this with tights and boots – I think this is an all-season skirt! And your hair looks so pretty! And of course, the kid is cracking me up!

    • lisa g says:

      thanks! i never know what color tights to wear, so hopefully i can find a combo i like. and thanks on the hair… i so seldom wear it down, especially in the summer. yay for fall and cooler temps!

  3. poppykettle says:

    I think you need to start offering classes in matching prints! Had I not been aware of your uncanny ability in that department, I would have presumed this to be a much simpler make! I was peering closely at the screen even before you mentioned that hiding in there somewhere was a fly front…. Love the photo-bomb picture 😉 Gorgeous skirt!

  4. Katie says:

    Love this skirt! I was drooling over that fabric when you posted it on Instagram, too. This will look great with tights in the fall. Seems like a staple piece in my book 🙂

  5. Tan says:

    i love the prints you can get on lightweight denim now. i just bought some amazeballs orange chevron print!

    Your pattern matching is stupendous. Great item

Leave a Reply

