liberty of something or other scout tee

it’s not all winter sewing around these parts. in fact several weeks ago i brought home a fabric haul to start my spring sewing. most of it was for my daughter (which i already sewed up and hope to get photographed some day…) but i picked up a couple things for myself. the first of which is this cute floral lawn/voile. it was marked on the roll as liberty of london fabric, however i’m pretty sure it is not. it’s a nice quality fabric, don’t get me wrong, but it doesn’t have that swoon-worthy feel i would have expected from liberty. not that i would know, since i’ve never felt any before. soon though, soon… yesterday i splurged and ordered some of the real deal. ya know, for research. and hopefully a cute spring/easter dress.

IMG_2504

this fabric was $13/yd, so even though it’s on the higher end of my price-per-yard comfort zone, i only needed a small amount to make a scout tee. i’ve searched high and low for this print online, but alas i’ve come up blank. but, liberty or not (probably not), i love the print!

IMG_2518

i’ve already made the scout tee a couple times (as most likely you have also), and it’s such a fast and easy pattern. seriously. i heart it so much. i previously altered the fit with a SBA, widened the hip, and dropped the back hemline. i think i still need to make a couple adjustments though. the back pulls slightly and the front gapes a little. i didn’t notice it so much on my silk scout, but when i throw a cardigan over this one, the fit issue becomes more obvious. i think next time i’m going to add width to CB, and remove the same amount from CF, then re-draw the neckline as necessary. there may be a better way of handling this, but whatever. i still love this tee!

—lisa g.

17 thoughts on “liberty of something or other scout tee

  1. Katie says:

    Such a great springy print — who cares if it’s actually Liberty? I really need to bite the bullet and piece together my Scout Tee pattern (one of my biggest obstacles to using PDF patterns). I have added some lovely, drapey rayon to my stash that would make lovely Scout Tees!

    • lisa g says:

      this is an easy pattern to cut and tape together, and well worth the time! i want to make some in rayon also, and it’s perfect for small cuts of silk. such a great pattern, hope you get to it soon!

  2. dokucug says:

    Very cute! In my view, Liberty-like floral prints like this one are as good as the real thing 🙂 I’m getting ready to buy this pattern (finally) and might splurge and buy some Liberty to make one when I go to Toronto in a couple weeks. How much do you use for this top?

    • lisa g says:

      i completely agree! i love patterns like this for expensive fabrics since it requires so little. i know i bought 1.5 yds, and i think i have an entire half yard leftover. my fabric was 52/54″ wide, so as long as you don’t have to match prints too much, you can easily bust this out of 1 to 1.25 yd. the pattern does come with a pattern piece for the bias facing, but i always piece mine to save on yardage. once you get the fit right, i’m sure you’d love this one!

  3. crab&bee says:

    I’ll be curious to hear how your certified Liberty stacks up to this fabric! I think I’ve improved at rejecting an all-out bad fabric, but I’m not very knowledgeable on what makes a fabric better-quality than another. Either way, this fabric made a very cute Scout!

    • lisa g says:

      i have high hopes for my real deal liberty, so hopefully it will meet my expectations! i almost never buy fabrics online anymore, just because i can’t tell from a picture what the quality really is. i’m generally not a brand-conscious person, but sometimes that’s the only way to know what you’re getting without feeling it first. live and learn!

  4. Shar says:

    I love the Scout Tee (I’ve made a knit and a woven so far) and I love florals so I think this top is just perfect! I’m not in the spring spirit yet, but this reminds me that I do need some more of these! I’m interested to see how this fabric is in comparison to the Liberty you just bought.

  5. Ilse Vanhevel says:

    Hi, I discovered your blog just now (via sew wrong), and I’m impressed by your work! I’m adding your blog to my reading list 🙂 Apparantly we live in the same area too

Leave a Reply

