lane raglan v.3

spring weather around these parts is a bit of a mixed bag. eighty-five one day, 50ºF the next. i made this light sweatshirt-type shirt for those days when i need a warmer layer, but still want to look like spring. again, this is the lane raglan by hey june (clearly, i endorse this pattern!), and the fabric is a cotton interlock from girl charlee. this fabric is crazy soft and comfy, i love it so much!

IMG_2934

i was a little over confident in how much i could fit onto one yard of fabric and nearly didn’t get to make this top! i had to abandon print matching the sleeves to the main body pieces, and i was still short about 1″ in width. i briefly threw in the towel, then got it back out to try again. i arranged it so that only a small part at the underarm of one sleeve was hanging off the fabric. i cut it out, then went back and pieced a scrap on and finished cutting the sleeve.

i always win at fabric cutting.

i used rib knit from joann fabrics as the neck and sleeve/hem bands since interlock doesn’t have the recovery needed for the job. plus the ribbing gives it a more “authentic” sweatshirt vibe. i probably could have stretched the neck band tighter since it’s slightly wavy, but it doesn’t particularly bother me.

IMG_2950

for this version i shortened the hemline by 2″. it works a little better for layering with the shorter length, and, as it turns out, i wouldn’t have had enough fabric anyways. in case you were wondering, these are my jalie jeans that i made a few months ago. i honestly didn’t anticipate them becoming my go to jeans, but they are! my GAP jeans just feel so wrong now, i never reach for them. it’s definitely time for a second pair, but i suspect that won’t happen until fall. or sooner… who knows!

—lisa g.

21 thoughts on “lane raglan v.3

  1. Ruthie says:

    Ooh, rib knit. Would you say that this would be a good first project for working with rib knit? Great job on bending that one yard to your will!

    • lisa g says:

      certainly! there’s nothing all that complicated about rib knit (though i’d stay away from the thin rayon versions, i hear they’re a pain!) but you may have to play around with the stretch factor if you’re uncertain about how it’ll behave.

  2. Katie says:

    Looks great — I really like the shorter length, and the fabric is lovely. I just finished my first (short sleeve) one last night and it is a little on the long side.

  3. Corinne says:

    Ah, don’t you just love a good win?! Love the top and totally LOVE the jeans! They’re a staple in my wardrobe and the Jalie jeans are on my sewing list this year. I hope they turn out as good as yours!

  4. dokucug says:

    So nice! Geez – I bought this pattern immediately after you and a few others started showing FOs from it. Have I made it yet? Of course not! So. Far. Behind! Same with the Jalie jeans pattern!

  5. debbieiles says:

    Such a nice fitting raglan. I have about 4 different basic knit top patterns (including one raglan I think…) in my stash after suddenly desperately wanting a pattern for such a staple a few weeks ago…and I’ve not even sewn any yet! I think I need your version now. I love a winner!

  6. Katherine says:

    Cute sweatshirt! I so often find myself in a fabric cutting challenge, that I am beginning to wonder if I should start buying great lengths? Nice to hear that someone else is pushing those fabric cutting boundaries! This sweat + jeans is a chic basic outfit that will get lots of wear…great win for home sewing.

  7. aleah says:

    Well done showing that fabric who’s boss! I do wish Girl Charlee sold in fractions of yards – 1 is not quite enough for a long sleeve shirt, but 2 is way too much… I also always try to eek it out of the smaller amount too.

  8. poppykettle says:

    You’re so good at finding then actually sewing from pattern companies I’ve not heard of before. I used to keep miles away from raglan because I thought that style enhanced the width of the shoulder area – one of those optical illusion things – but now I’m older and wiser, I’m not so sure. That papercut hoody I sewed up was raglan, and I think it’s actually more flattering that normal set in sleeves. What I’m getting to is that I really like this pattern. If I find a pretty fleecy fabric to sew it up in – I’m probably going to buy it! I LOVE the solid hot pink and striped version they have on their site (with a gold pocket?? so cool).
    The style looks wonderful on you – especially the shape of the neckline. Love it.

    • lisa g says:

      i’m so addicted to raglan sleeved patterns! if anything i would think the raglan lines narrow the shoulder visually. at any rate, i hope you find some fabric and make your own!

Leave a Reply

