MORRIS BLAZER| Grainline Studio

Full disclosure: I am a Grainline Studio fangurl.

I ordered the Morris Blazer pattern the second it was released.  Jen had been teasing us about releasing it for what… years? Ha! It seemed like the perfect casual blazer—I knew there would be no hesitation. Fortunately, it was totally worth the wait, as I’m completely in love with it! No weird fit issues or tweaks, just pure love.

IMG_5122

Side note: I also made this t-shirt. Appropriately, it’s a Grainline Studio sleeveless Hemlock Tee with a slightly curved hemline and narrow bound neckline. I love this tee, and wear it all the time!

I made a size 4 and graded out to a 6 at the side seams (for reference, my measurements are 34-29-40). I usually make a forward shoulder adjustment, but I skipped it here since the shoulder seam sits a little bit forward anyways. And… that’s it for fit. Nice!

IMG_5118

I feel like I ran into problems with my fabric choice though. I used a really nice ponte from fabric.com and while I adore the fabric itself, I feel like it has too much drape for this blazer. You can see that the front of the blazer wants to bag out and not hang quite right. I made sure to block fuse my facings, since I find that knit fusible tends to shrink slightly under the heat and steam. However, if I make this blazer in ponte fabric again, I’ll throw in some fusible on the outer piece where it would be hidden by the facing. I don’t think you’ll run into this problem if you go with a stretch woven, but I’d be tempted to play it safe and use a lightweight fusible anyway.

IMG_5132

So that’s my only quibble with the pattern, and really the issue is specific to knit fabrics. Otherwise, the construction and directions are fantastic! Despite the fact that this blazer is unlined, the interior finish is very neat and tidy. Plus, holy cow, is this a quick project. I’m pretty sure the cutting and fusing took longer than the actual construction. I cut and finished it over a very-busy-with-other-things two days.

IMG_5120

I so badly want to sew up another right away, but I’m trying to move on to my summer wardrobe. I’m in need of new shorts, tanks, and t-shirts. We’re heading back to our hometown for our summer vacation right after school is out, and I’m pretty sure the Kansas summer will be in full force upon our arrival. Until then… mad sewing to make all the stuff I want and need for me and the family!

—lisa g.

45 thoughts on “MORRIS BLAZER| Grainline Studio

  1. Hila says:

    I thought 2 Morris Blazers were enough for now but I am loving your stripes! Despite what you write about the fabric it looks ace on you!😃.

  2. kristin says:

    oh man i love it. you and kelly (cut cut sew) both have morrises that i WANT. looks like such a great “throw it on and look like i actually tried” type comfy garment, versus the cardigans i usually live in. gotta love the grainline fit! looks so good!

    • lisa g says:

      Yes, I was very pleased with that also! I just didn’t have the time to think about constructing a “real” blazer that would take me a week (or more…).

  3. Carolyn says:

    This looks fantastic! I love the stripes, and the fit looks perfect. It pairs really nicely with your floral top too. Hope you make some more Morrises! 🙂 This pattern is definitely on my radar.

    • lisa g says:

      I will most definitely make more! Probably will wait a few months… At least this blazer will be perfect for those rogue chilly days. I think you’d love this pattern, I hope you get a chance to make it!

  4. Heather says:

    This looks perfect!! I am a huge Grainline fangirl too – but my summer sewing is getting in the way of me making this. The stripes are awesome!

  5. aleah says:

    Love it! I actually just finished a Morris and I also used a fairly drapey doubleknit and my fronts are saggy too. I’m trying to decide if it would be better to interface both the front and the facing (or will it be too stiff?) or not interfacing either (too floppy?) Luckily (sort of) I have time to make another version because light jackets are required in the evening in coastal California until like September… You’ve got me wanting a striped one!

    • gilliancrafts says:

      I’ve been having the same issue with ponte versions… do you think the facing is a bit too short, or a bit too long? SO far I’ve just been topstitching it down, which works but it a bit awkward to do without getting any wrinkles or puckers!

      • lisa g says:

        Sorry for the delayed response! I think that lack of structure in the fabric is the reason it won’t hold it’s shape. If I try a ponte version again I will try interfacing the front behind the facing, as I think that’s the best solution. On a regular tailored blazer you often interface the entire front, but because this is unlined you don’t want all that to show. The stretch woven versions I’ve seen don’t seem to have the bagging issue, so I’m blaming the fabric!

    • lisa g says:

      I’ve noticed the same thing in other versions, so I’m convinced it’s the fabric and not the drafting. I’ll interface part of the front if I use ponte again, but I’m also interested in trying a stretch woven!

  6. teri dodds says:

    This looks so good. I have got to get this pattern! I think it would be a great alternative to the cardigans I always wear. The stripes look nice with your floral Hemlock, too.

  7. gilliancrafts says:

    You had me at stripes and florals!!! Your morris looks fab, and of course now I want a stripes version myself. Looking at your version, I like how slim and trim it is – mine seem a bit big in comparison. Maybe I need to size down a bit? Lovely work, as always!

    • lisa g says:

      I was so conflicted on what size to make! I usually go with a 6 and do a SBA, but I figured given the ease and stretch of the fabric I could go by my actual bust measure and make a 4. It’s plenty roomy, so you may try sizing down for something more fitted, particularly if your fabric has lots of stretch. Thanks!

    • lisa g says:

      Thank you, Gail! It doesn’t hold a candle to all the fab blazers you’ve been pumping out, but it is perfect for something more casual!

  8. Liza Jane says:

    I’m catching up on my blog reading. I love the stripes!! I’ve not been super excited about this pattern but this is inspiring. I’m not usually a blazer wearer. Love it!

  9. Sandra (Sewist-Stitch) says:

    The casual nature of this matter got me to push the ‘buy’ button yesterday. I want to make it up with some Ponte, but now reading your post I’m going to double check that the fabric I select has got some body. I love the stripes 🙂

    • lisa g says:

      The casual part of the blazer is what makes it so perfect for my lifestyle. I love regular blazers, but sometimes they just feel too dressy. Can’t wait to see you make it up!

Leave a Reply

