Woven Tank Love | McCalls 7411

Before I get into the pattern, on my last post I made vague references to having a really sucky year… I don’t like to bother about personal issues here (sewing is my refuge from life and stress!), but it was very heartwarming to read all your well-wishes. Without going into all the nitty gritty (gawd… I could write a book on it) my husband had been laid off from his job (single income family… yay *sarcasm*) and it took a bit longer than anticipated to get back on our feet. We’re on the up and up now and he landed a fantastic job. It feels like the stars aligned for us in the best possible way, and this, after feeling like every single thing had gone wrong over the past… well, decade, has just felt amazing. There’s still a mountain to climb before we’re back to good, but we’re feeling optimistic for the first time in a very, very long time.

IMG_2084

But on to the important stuff! I’ve made Grainline Studio’s Tiny Pocket Tank at least six times by now, and despite my best efforts it just never fit right. They’re still perfectly wearable—and I wear them constantly during the summer—but I’ve tired of tinkering with that pattern and decided to start from scratch with a new pattern. I picked up McCalls 7411 and decided to sew up a muslin in some cotton lawn to check the fit. Even though I’ll probably always use a rayon challis or some other drape-y fabric, I find it easier to diagnose fit issues in something more stable.

Side note: I’m going to start adding a TL;DR section at the bottom of my posts if you just want to scroll through pics and get the basic deets in the fewest words possible.

I traced off view A in a size S, then slashed and spread it at the side seam and added about 3/4″ (3″ in total) at the hip. After my muslin, I pinched out a tiny bit at the shoulder seam/neckline to do a square shoulder adjustment, did a SBA, then pinched out some width under the arms, blending to nothing at the waist. For once the bust dart was in the right spot (warning to those who often lower bust darts! I usually hike it up a good 1/2″!). I also eliminated the CB seam and cut it out on the fold.

IMG_2098

I sewed up my adjusted pattern in a rayon challis from JoAnn’s and I love how it came out! The only thing I’ll change next time will be raising the armholes. I checked the armholes on my muslin, but they seemed okay. It’s possible the fabric stretched out a bit during construction, though it’s pretty common for me to raise armholes.

IMG_2073

As a nod to the TPT, I added a tiny pocket to this pattern. I keep a few pocket templates around my sewing room, so I just used one I had on hand. I’m very happy with how this tank came out, and it will be my go-to woven tank pattern from now on. There was always something off about the Grainline version and, since Jen retired that pattern and came out with the Willow as a replacement, I kinda felt like it was time for me to move on as well.

lisa g.


TL;DR

PATTERN: McCalls 7411, view A
FABRIC: rayon challis from JoAnn, discontinued
SIZE: S, with alterations (measurements for reference: 5’8″/34″/27.5″/39″)
MODS: eliminated CB seam
ALTERATIONS: square shoulder, SBA, narrowed underarm, added width to hip
NEXT TIME: reduce armhole depth

36 thoughts on “Woven Tank Love | McCalls 7411

  1. sewbusylizzy says:

    So pleased things are back on track & life is feeling positive again. It’s a tough place to be in when everything looks bleak.
    Love your new top. I love simple woven tops on summer. This one looks perfect

    • lisa g says:

      Thank you! His previous job was so unnecessarily stressful. Having a break turned out to be really healthy thing, and I’m just glad we can finally move on!

  2. teri dodds says:

    This tank is great! The color is so pretty. It looks like the perfect top for a hot summer day. I’m so glad to hear that your husband found a new, better job. My husband’s job is a bit up in the air right now with recent layoffs and his company being sold. It’s scary when you’re on a single income! I’m happy things are looking up for you guys.

    • lisa g says:

      Thank you! The fabric color is really amazing… glad I spotted it. And, oh I hope things settle down for your husband’s job. It’s so stressful to worry about all the possible scenarios. My husband’s had been unstable for a long time and frankly we were more than happy to be done with them. It’s just better when it’s your decision and not theirs! Let me know how things go, I’ll be thinking of you guys!

  3. poppykettle says:

    I can see why it’s been such a sewing staple for you – effortless and cool! So glad to hear the hubster has landed a fantastic role – being made redundant is horrible and frightening, but from a purely positive perspective, a great opportunity 😉 xx

    • lisa g says:

      Thank you! Even though we knew it might be coming, it was a real punch to the gut. But! It was the punch he needed to finally get out of a dead end situation. We’ll be ten times better off in the long run!

  4. Masha says:

    That must have been a very stressful year! I’m so glad to hear that it is better now. And you look great in your adorable tank – nice work!

  5. Carolyn says:

    I’m so sorry you’ve been having a terrible year, but I’m very happy to read that things are getting back on track for you. On the plus side, your outfit is super cute! adorable little top and it looks just lovely with your mustard/gold shorts. A sweet combination 🙂 sending love and hugs to you xx

    • lisa g says:

      We’re just relieved to be over the hump and be able to plan for the future again. He had wanted to get out of the old job, and I guess he needed to be pushed rather than nudged! And thank you, I’m sure this tank/shorts combo will be in heavy rotation!

  6. Hélène says:

    Looks like you found the perfect pattern for your tank top. This colour is simply gorgeous and what a match with mustard! Now that fitting issues are solved, you might even want to transform this pattern into a trapeze dress – in challis, it would be beautiful. And what a relief for your family. In French, we says : “Après la pluie, le beau temps!”.

  7. crab and bee says:

    I’m so glad things are looking brighter for you and hope you recover from the months when things were scary. (As a side note, the end of last year and earlier this year has been challenging for almost everybody I know. So strange.) Love the beautiful blue you chose for your new-and-improved woven tank pattern!

    • lisa g says:

      We’re definitely in a much better spot now, and he’s on a very promising career path. Hopefully the bad times turn around for those in your circle… it can be a very lonely place when it feels like you’re going through troubles alone. And thank you! Isn’t the color divine? I couldn’t pass it up!

  8. Heather says:

    I’m so glad that things are on the up and up for you guys! And congrats to your husband on the new job!
    This tank looks great on you! I love that blue and I think it looks like the perfect summer staple!

    • lisa g says:

      We were worried things wouldn’t turn out well… so thankful a good opportunity came along! And thank you – these rayon tanks are definitely my summer uniform!

  9. gingermakes says:

    Oh my gosh, how stressful! I’m so glad to hear that things are on the upturn- that’s great news! This looks so perfect, especially in that beautiful blue. Yay all around!

    • lisa g says:

      We were trying to take it all in stride, but finding a job is such a frustrating experience! Glad to be on the other side of all that. Thank you! 🙂

    • lisa g says:

      It’s internet/forum lingo for “too long; didn’t read.” So if you write a lengthy post, the TL;DR is a short summary. Just gives folks an opportunity to catch the basics without reading through an entire post!

  10. Fabric Tragic says:

    Glad the second half of the year is looking so much better than the first! Love the tank – how satisfying to have such a great fitting basic. I’m going to see how the Calli Faye tank suits me come this summer

    • lisa g says:

      It certainly has been a roller coaster year! I think the rest should go smoothly… 🙂 I do like the look of the CF tank, I hope it works out for you!

  11. Susan (moonthirty) says:

    Hey Lisa, I’m trying to get back to the blogosphere and started this afternoon with catching up on my favorite peeps’ blogs. 😘 I just wanted to tell you that my heart goes out to your family for the employment struggles, and I’m so glad things are turning around for y’all! And natch, the tank looks fabulous — this is a stunning color on you.

    • lisa g says:

      Thank you Susan, it’s been quite the year! It sucks to go through all the pain and uncertainty, but truly it’s all for the best in the end. I think the upcoming year will be a good one, which is something I haven’t felt in years! And it’s great to see you around again, hope all is well with you!

  12. PsychicKathleen says:

    Congratulations for prevailing through this terrible time and celebrating with this beautiful top! It’s a gorgeous colour and hangs so nicely. Looks like silk and I bet this would be lovely in silk too 🙂

    • lisa g says:

      Thank you! So happy to have this behind us. The color of this fabric is so rich–it was a lucky find! Would love to make it in silk as well.

Leave a Reply

