Salme Buttonless Shirtdress

Oh hey there! I’ve been pretty low on blogging motivation as of late, but maybe Spring will put me back in the mood for taking pictures and whatnot. Life took a (somewhat) unexpectedly crappy turn this year, but hopefully we’ll be back in the swing of things shortly. Fingers crossed!

FullSizeRender_2

Anyway, I’ve been in the mood for a new spring/summer dress. I really want to make a proper shirtdress, but time and motivation lacking, I decided to try the Salme Buttonless Shirtdress; a  pattern I bought ages ago but never got around to sewing. It’s a pullover shift dress with a loose fit and collar band. It’s a nod to the shirtdress without quite going all the way. I think it was the gathers at the neckline that sent this pattern into MUST HAVE territory for me, because I adore that small detail.

IMG_1666

This is the first time I’ve made a Salme pattern, and tbh, I haven’t seen many people sewing them up. I don’t know why though, the designs are all really classic and they come in at a very reasonable price ($6-8). Based on my measurements, I cut a 6 at the bust, 8 at the waist, and 10 at the hip. If you’re in between sizes it would be pretty safe to size down. This dress has plenty of ease, but not overwhelmingly so.

I feel like maybe the patterns are drafted for someone a bit taller than average. The bust dart and arm holes are a solid 1″ too low. It’s fairly common for me to remove length above the bust, so this isn’t a huge surprise. Also, I typically add length to hemlines, but here I shortened it by 1″ and it still hits just above my knees (I am very long from waist to knee, fyi).

FullSizeRender_3

Since the bust dart was so low, I decided to unpick the side seam and dart and re-sew the dart angled up by 3/4″. This worked alright for a quick and dirty fix—at least the dart is headed in vaguely the right direction now. I wasn’t super fussed about getting a perfect fit, so while I couldn’t do anything about the low armhole at least the bust dart is passable. The only criticism I have of this pattern is that there isn’t a marking for where to start the neckline gathers. I just guessed and tried to make sure it was even on both sides. Oh, and you do have to add seam allowances. That’s not a negative in my opinion, but I know it’s a deal breaker for some.

FullSizeRender

The fabric I used is a linen, rayon, poly blend from Joanns. Isn’t the color divine? I hesitated for a moment because it’s so bright, but I’m glad I went with it. I’m typically not attracted to solid colored fabrics (must buy all the pretty prints!) but when I get dressed in the morning I always wish I had more solids to choose from.

FullSizeRender_4

Bottom line on this one… LOVE. This is such a versatile dress that would be equally suited to a summer BBQ as it would a date night. It isn’t fussy, and it feels very chic. With shirtdresses all the rage these days, I would think this would be a very popular pattern. Anyone else been sewing up Salme Patterns? I’ll definitely be paying more attention to their offerings in the future.

lisa g.

42 thoughts on “Salme Buttonless Shirtdress

  1. gilliancrafts says:

    That colour is gorgeous! Looks great on you. I like how the pattern straddles between “fancy” and “everyday”, which means it should get lots of wear! My personal beef with Salme is the sizing… doesn’t go up very high! 🙂

    • lisa g says:

      Yes, this will definitely get a lot of wear! I’ve already mentally pegged it as the dress to wear for outings and get togethers. That’s a shame about the sizing though, would be nice if there was a greater range. Thank you!

  2. Katie says:

    That’s really classy and pretty. I feel like Salme don’t get sewn so much too – their stuff is a little plain but that makes them very versatile if not the most sexy/exciting to sew. I sewed a couple of their patterns early on and I’m going to take a look at their collection again now!

    • lisa g says:

      You’re right, some of them are a bit plain and easy to overlook. On the other hand I can totally see them in my wardrobe! I’m excited to sew up a few more. Thank you!

  3. Andrea says:

    I tried making their Raglan Sleeve Shirt Dress, which Salme designed as an adaptation of the buttonless shirt dress, with longer sleeves and a wider V neckline. It was a disaster on me in the neck and shoulder area so I chucked the project. This looks so great on you, though, and I wish I had this version instead!
    We teach one of their patterns in our 201 class at Butcher’s Sew Shop, and my coworker has made the Hannah Top and Silvia Dress and they’re both so cute.

    • lisa g says:

      Too bad the raglan shirtdress didn’t work out! Getting a good fit in a raglan woven seems like tricky business. I’ve got my eye on the pleated front dress and a few of the tops. Thank you!

  4. aleah says:

    I love this! I saw this pattern a while ago but couldn’t find any reviews of it so I didn’t buy it. Thanks for your advice! Although I always have to lower the armholes, so sounds like a good pattern company for me…

    • lisa g says:

      I think the lack of reviews is why I waited so long to sew it up. But then I figured there wasn’t a whole lot that could go wrong, so why not! Hope you give this pattern a try. Thanks!

  5. katherine says:

    I’ve often admired the salme patterns, but have not bought one…since I discovered them, I have been on a self-drafting bent…but I often look at their styles for inspiration.

    The green of your dress is just divine, and the resulting dress is a simple yet chic design.

  6. rryberg1 says:

    I just discovered Salme patterns on Pinterest, and your dress is the first one I’ve seen made up. It looks great on you! I just made their free Olsen dress. It’s super simple,basically a tank dress with an elasticated waist, but it turned out pretty well. It’ll be up on my blog (memademakes.com) as soon as we get a sunny day to take pictures.

    • lisa g says:

      Thank you! Oh I can’t wait to see your Olsen dress! I was excited to see that free pattern and think it will be a great summer dress. It’s totally on my “to make” list!

  7. Nora Alexander says:

    I agree that the colour is divine!

    Sorry to hear that you had a “crappy” start to the year. I hope things are turning around for you and yours.

  8. Heather says:

    This looks so beautiful and super classic! I love that gorgeous green! I’m glad you’re back on the blogging train and I hope things are going better for you, and continue to do so.

  9. Sarah - Fabric Tragic says:

    Great colour on you – lovely. I really like salme patterns. They’re very chic. I’ve made the cropped blazer, the mitred hem wasn’t explained well at all but I still love it. I also really love the slanted shorts pattern too.

    • lisa g says:

      The directions were certainly a bit sparse, though half the time I don’t even look at them. I’m certainly looking forward to trying more of their patterns – thank you!

  10. teri dodds says:

    This dress is so pretty on you, Lisa! I love the color so much. I really like the neck gathers and front slit detail. It’s a great style that looks like it could be dressed up or worn more casually. I have looked at Salme patterns in the past but haven’t ever purchased any. I’m glad to see a review of this dress to get a feel for their sizing/fit.

    • lisa g says:

      Thank you, Teri! The neck gathers are just the best – funny how a small detail like that makes such a big impact! Hopefully I’ll get around to making another of their patterns soon.

  11. crab and bee says:

    Gah, this dress looks fantastic on you! It looks breezy and totally put-together.

    What is up with 2016?! I feel like almost everybody I know is facing some kind of difficulty right now. I hope things are turning around for you!

    • lisa g says:

      Thank you, thank you! Yup, 2016 has been ROUGH. I think it’ll all be for the best in the long run, it’s just the short term that sucks!

  12. gingermakes says:

    This is so lovely! And the green looks great on you! It looks so easy to wear– bet you’ll be slipping this on all the time!

    I’m sorry to hear that it’s been a rough year for you and yours. Hoping that things go better for you guys and that you’re having a great day!

  13. kristin says:

    Ah it’s so gorgeous! Seems like the perfect summertime dress to throw on for all sorts of occasions. Sorry life has thrown some crap at you lately but I things are better soon.

  14. Sasha says:

    Love how this dress looks on you! – and that’s a beautiful colour.
    I hope things will straighten up … wishing you all the best! xx

Leave a Reply

